IT WILL ALL WORK OUT.

EPISODE 8

I return home from my impromptu visit to Doctor Ngobeni, shocked beyond belief. I’ve been scrambling through my mind trying to figure out who would be so cruel, as to intentionally give me an abortion pill or something like that. Doctor Ngobeni and I went through a series of theories, and maybe I ingested it accidentally but how. I can feel myself slowly losing my mind, trying hard not to entertain the thought of Godfrey being responsible. He was so happy, in fact he was beyond it and he still is now with our new baby. But if I were to truly face the facts, I didn’t leave home the entirety of that week . He was the only person who had access to me and as a medical practitioner, access to abortion pills. And the thought that he could be the person responsible for violating my body like that and killing our child, that thought just kills me.
I  put on some music to take my mind off things, and start preparing dinner. My books stare back at me on the dinner table, begging to be studied and offering a form of distraction. I’ve been going through such a rollercoaster of emotions lately, I completely lost focus on the one important thing to me. Not to say that my baby isn’t as important but I can’t exactly start this chapter without achieving my goals. But since this little one is already here, I know I can do both. I just need to find my balance again.
The end of Adele’s Day Dreamer brings me out of the depths of my heavy mind. I think playing music might’ve been a bad idea. Just as I have that thought, my phone rings. I grab the remote to mute the music and then my phone, it’s Godfrey.
“Hey babe!”
“Hey, why’d you take so long to pick up?”
“Oh I had to mute the music first.”
“You? Listening to music, where did you get your groove back?”
I laugh at the thought of it.
“No man, I just wanted to finish studying while listening to some music.”
“Okay, you do that and I’ll bring takeaways for dinner. What do you feel like? Asian? Pizza?”
“Uhm, let’s do pizza.” I’ve been dying for a good slice of cheesy pizza for days.
“Okay awesome. I’ll see you in a bit, I’m knocking off early today. I just want to spend some time together you know.” His voice echoes with sincerity into my eardrum.
“Yeah I know, I miss that too.”
“I’m happy to hear that. I love you.”
“I love you too.”

An hour later Godfrey walks in with bags and boxes of food.
“Which store did you empty out Free?”
He laughs so hard, I start laughing too. We both eventually run out of air and look into each other’s eyes 
“Hi beautiful!” He says, kissing my forehead.
“Hi handsome.” I blush uncontrollably, before pulling away from him to start dishing up.
“I’m famished, I don’t know about you.”  I truly am.
“Okay I got you baby, I’ll dish up okay? You just kick your feet up, I’ll bring you some juice.” He pulls me to the couches, and sits me down gently.
“Free, I can do things you know. I’m just pregnant, it’s no big deal.”
“Of course it is Mel. You take care of me so why can’t I take care of you?”
“That’s not what I’m saying.”
“Then what Mel? What do you want me to do or not do?”
I shrug. I don’t understand how he got so upset.
“Can we please just let it go.”
“Best thing you’ve said so far.” He finally bites.
“Don’t you dare speak to me like that Godfrey.”
“Or what Mel?”
“What is wrong with you? Like who are you right now?”
He just huffs, and then catches me looking at his folded hands, before walking away.


Leave a comment